Ayurvedajya Logo

Ayurveda’s basic principles – Panchmabhuta and Tridosha

Ayurveda runs on the basis of nature and the basic principle of “Panchamahabhutas”. In the Indian philosophy the panchmahabhutas are considered to be the basis of everything in this universe and nothing is conceived without the presence of these mahabhutas. These are the 5 basic elements – Ether (Aakash), Air (Vayu), Fire (Agni), Water (Jala) and Earth (Prithvi). It is considered that nothing is devoid of these five things in the nature, be it natural or artificial, everything is made up with a little proportion out of these elements and so is the human body. The total gimmick of Ayurveda revolves around these things. Ayurveda as a word is made up with two units i.e., Ayu + Veda, meaning the science of life. Being the “Science of life”, Ayurveda looks at the human body to keep it healthy and to make it healthy in case it becomes diseased. And here again comes the principle of the “Panchmahabhuta”. The Panchmahabhutas are represented in the human body in the form of “Tridoshas”. Tridoshas are 3 types of physical elements present in the body to form and maintain physical, mental and emotional functions of the body. It is considered that if these three are in equilibrium, then a person is healthy and otherwise is in a state of disease. So, as I said previously, Ayurveda revolves around finding and judging the status of equilibrium/ harmony or disequilibrium/ disharmony of these doshas and to correct it accordingly. All the things in Ayurveda like the diet, exercise, medicines and therapy procedures consider the basic of panchmahabhutas and tridoshas to carry out any advice to the patients. To be continued with another topic………………..

Contact Details


C 7/16, Sector 8 Rohini,
Behind Digambar Jain Mandir,
Delhi 110085



Email us on:


More Links

Connect Us On Social Media